A Dutch Classic: Boerenkool

1175391_10151806309142899_878717921_n

When I was in Amsterdam this summer, I ate at a restaurant that served traditional Dutch meals.  I remember trying to figure out what to order without knowing how to read Dutch.  Luckily, the waiter was very accommodating and gave me a brief description of the dishes that I pointed to.  When I pointed at Boerenkool (thinking what a cool name), the waiter told me that it consisted of mashed potatoes, kale, bacon and gravy.  I was sold!  I have never thought of mixing kale into mashed potatoes before but wow, was it ever tasty!  My friends challenged me to make it for them when we return to Vancouver.  I responded by what Barney Stinson would say:  Challenge Accepted!

Ingredients:

A bunch of Kale (washed, dried, stems removed)

6 -7 Russet potatoes

Smoked sausages (whichever kind you prefer)

1/2 cup half and half

1/2 cup butter

salt

pepper

gravy (yes, the packaged ones is absolutely fine)

20130821_155229 (1)

Wash the Kale and peel the potatoes.  Put the potatoes in a saucepan and add water until the potatoes are covered.  Bring to a boil and simmer until the potatoes are soft and ready to mash.

20130821_174959

While the potatoes are simmering, chop up the Kale into small pieces.

IMG_8569

Check to see if the potatoes are soft.  If so, drain the water from the potatoes.  Mash the potatoes and add the butter and the cream one after another.

20130821_181816

Add the chopped kale into the mixture and pop the lid back on.  Let it sit on simmer for 5 minutes (keep an eye on it though – stir occasionally so the bottom of the pan doesn’t get brown)

*steaming the kale before you put it in the mashed potatoes is optional but I felt the Kale tasted more fresh by cooking it this way.

Meanwhile, pan fry the smoked sausage (and bacon if you’d like) and make the gravy

IMG_8558

You’re now ready to plate your meal.  Enjoy!

I joked with my Husband that I totally could’ve married a Dutch man and would be fine in the kitchen if this is what he’d like to eat everyday. =P

Leave a Reply

